Skip to content

Larry King “Twitters”

by on June 21, 2010

Larry King's profile photo on Facebook

I’m hooked on  Larry King…(and Anderson Cooper). 

I turn on CNN and keep it running day and night. This has been going on for about two years. The mix of hard news infused with a dash of celebrity and sensationalism keep me tuned in, even as segments repeat four or five times. I hang in there. It is not a partisan thing, yet it is a communications thing.

As the months have passed, I have listened as Larry King started to promote his “use” of social media. (I think we can all assume someone on his team is typing, uploading, tweeting, posting, etc…I know Wolf Blitzer has his “Wolf Pack” behind the scenes, so Larry might have delegate this task to the King’s Court.) He started by asking the audience to follow his “twitting.” Then he asked us to follow his “twits” since he is now “Twittering.” Nonetheless, I followed and lauded his efforts.

I found Larry’s attempt to engage via Facebook and Twitter quite charming, despite the awkward verbiage. I actually felt even more endeared to CNN. (I happen to believe Anderson’s commitment to his tweets.) The point is that the actual use of Social Media by CNN in tandem with the intent to engage the audience has been effective. Larry King Live’s Facebook page has 72,703 fans as of today, while  Larry’s Twitter account, kingsthings, has 1,643,432 followers. 

As a result of my loyalty to Larry King, I watch the other anchors’ shows as well. With repeated mentions of their respective Facebook and Twitter accounts, I have visited their pages, and pay attention to their points of view. I have faith that CNN is reaching out to its audience and responding to questions and concerns above and beyond Website templates and call-in numbers.

I know Larry is not tweeting via Blackberry, and I don’t believe he checks how many friends he has on Facebook, but both he and CNN have reached me on the newer ground on which I reside for several hours each week. I believe this is CNN’s goal.

The Bottom Line

                                                                Even if you are I are not quite comfortable with a new platform, try it out. 

From → USA

3 Comments
  1. CNN’s sometimes uneasy journey into social media offers some good fuel for a blog post and your take as a loyal watcher and fan of their programming is a great place to start from. You raise several really interesting points in your post including the question about whether Larry King actually does his own tweeting versus someone like Anderson Cooper and also how CNN as a network is steadily moving all of their newsanchor personalities towards social media. Do you find a difference in your level of engagement between someone like Anderson Cooper who you guess is likely doing his own tweeting versus someone like Larry Kind who may not? What about the divide between those CNN personalities who do use Twitter or Facebook and those who don’t. Your post raises some great questions about the intersection between media of the past and media of the future and what would complete your analysis is if you looked at some of those questions with your own critical eye and offered a bit more on your point of view. (3)

    • Thank you, Rohit, for your analysis of the post. Your questions made me analyze this further.

      You ask, “Do you find a difference in your level of engagement between someone like Anderson Cooper who you guess is likely doing his own tweeting versus someone like Larry King who may not?”

      In general, I do find a difference between reporters engaging in social media and those who have not yet undertaken the task. (I give leeway to Larry King, as he is a familiar and comfortable anchor (literally and figuratively speaking.) I would innately have a bit more confidence in those reporters who are actively engaging their audiences and looking for and giving feedback. It relays the message to me that they are committed to both their jobs and their audience.

      You also raised the point about media of the past and media of the future. I don’t feel that social media itself is giving these journalists any more credibility in terms of their researching and reporting skills. I do find, however, that being current, and reaching as wide of a demographic as possible, is key to success in the 24/7 news wars (i.e. CNN vs Fox).

      I am attempting to look at your questions from various perspectives, including that of the reporter, an audience member, and how a competitor might view the broadcasts.

  2. Hey! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the great data you could have here on this post. I will probably be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

