Skip to content

TED Talks: Chip Conley discusses personal happiness

by on August 18, 2010

This morning’s TED Talks discussion was the best I’ve heard, yet.  Chip Conley did an amazing job discussing what makes people happy by asking hard questions people often overlook during the busyness of life.  How do you feel about the time you spend each day? How does your job make you feel? What is your emotional equation?

After Chip’s discussion, I began to think about how I spend my time.  In a normal week, I spend most of my time at work (like most people).  I also spend a significant amount of time attending class, doing homework, commuting to work and class, spending time with friends and family, and also sleeping (if I’m lucky… ha).  There are only 24 hours in a day… am I spending them in a way that makes me happy?

Chip opened his discussion by painting a picture of an immigrant woman (a personal friend and employee at his hotel) who was completely happy cleaning toilets for a living.  He said it wasn’t that she liked to clean toilets, but she liked helping people who were “far away from home”, just like she was when she moved to the United States.  At the end of the day, her janitorial job—a job which many would discredit as describe as terrible and the worst job ever—made her happy.

How does this apply to me? In my job, am I doing something that contributes to my overall happiness, or am I doing something to merely pay the bills?  When I leave work at the end of the day, do I have a sense of overall happiness and fulfillment?  Of am I am just happy that the work day is finally over?

Are you truly happy in your job? For motivation and emotional insights, I would recommend you watch Chip Conley’s TED Talk discussion.  In addition, I would also suggest reading Gary Vaynerchuk’s book Crush It! Why Now is the Time to Cash in on your Passion.

From → USA

One Comment
  1. This was my favorite talk of the day. AND I like wacko wine dude Vaynerchuk. I’ll go check that out.

Leave a Reply

